Arragon and Hartshorn win two-person ambrose

The Tumut Golf Club held their two-person ambrose on Sunday and the team of Tom Arragon and Graeme Hartshorn got the win with 60 ½ points. 

Keith Dehnert and Steve Gooley finished second, some 3 ¼ shots off the pace when scoring 63 3/4.

Matt Downing and Geoff Brain (64 ¼), Robert Kell and Garry Dent (65 ¼) and Peter McCarthy, John Cruise and Brett Petherbridge (66 ½) were the ball competition winners. 

Nearest to the pin competitions saw Keith Dehnert (5m) closest on hole four, Jim Power (2.68m) nearest on hole nine and Steve Gooley (1.7m) nearest to the flag on hole 17. 

30 players took on the Saturday stableford with Glen Day landing the win with an impressive 47 points, finishing two points ahead of Mark Shanahan on 45 points. 

Mark Goode led the 11 ball competition winners on 42 points, through to Steven Kell on 35 points. 

Mark Hughes (6.3m) was nearest to the flag on hole four, Neil Bye finished just 72cm from the pin on hole nine and Dean Bristow (4.34m) found the green and was closest to the hole on hole 17.

12 golfers took part in the midweek competition and Lachlan Bristow was the eventual winner, scoring 38 points in the 18-hole stableford. 

Scott Stevenson led the five ball competitions winners on 36 points, through to Steve Delaney on 30 points.

Tuesday’s senior’s golf saw 20 players gracing the Tumut Golf Club fairways in the nine-hole stroke event. 

Trevor Masters recorded a victory, scoring 38 nett, holding off the second placed Warwick Butler with 29 nett. 

Barry Lang led the four ball competition winners with 30 nett, through to John Cruise on 31 nett. 

Barry Lang was the nearest to the pin on hole nine, holing out for two.

The Thursday Chook Run was a front-nine stroke event and 19 players took part. 

Geoff Kinsey was the winner, scoring 31 nett, winning on count back over both Robert Preston and Greg Kell, who both scored 31 nett. 

William Hughes (32 nett), Scott Stevenson (33 nett) and Louie Mulvihill (33 nett) were all ball competition winners and John Cruise (6m) finished nearest to the pin on hole four. 

Cooper aces ladies golf

Judy Cooper was a class above her rivals in the ladies’ competitions last week.

Cooper won the division one 18-hole stableford, scoring 41 points to take a three-shot victory from Cynthia Carroll with 38 points.

Cooper also finished nearest to the pin with 1.51m. 

Lyn Day took out division two, scoring 42 points to beat both Vicki Johnson and Shirley McGrillen with 39 points. 

The nine-hole ball competition was a stoke event and Judy Cooper was again the winner with 33 nett, finishing ahead of Lyn Day on 33 ½ nett. 

Upcoming golf 

In good news, The Bush Chemist Tumut will continue their longstanding sponsorship of the Tumut Golf Club Monthly Medal competition. 

The January monthly medal winners were Keith Dehnert in A-Grade, Robert Preston in A-Reserve, Tommy Arragon in B-Grade and Barry Crane in C-Grade. 

As of 2022, the Monthly Medal men’s competition has reverted back to four grades with A-Grade including handicaps 0-9, A-Reserve including handicaps 10-16, B-Grade include handicaps 17-23 and C-Grade including handicaps 24-36.

The Royal Hotel OZ Trophy will be held Saturday January 22 and 23 and the format will be a 4BBB with the nominations now open in the pro shop. 

This week coming will see Saturday and Sunday stableford competitions, a back-nine stableford for the seniors on Tuesday and a front-nine stableford for Thursday’s Chook Run. 

In ladies golf, Saturday to Friday is the 18-hole stableford and the nine-hole weekly ball comp stroke.

For more information, golfers and interested parties can ring the pro shop on 69471139.