Bulger’s awesome foursome wins club championship

The Tumut Bowling Club Fours Champions of John Niikkula, Neil Bulger (skip), Ken Wilson and Peter Hawken.

The Tumut Bowling Club semi-finals and finals lived up to expectation at Club Tumut on Saturday and Sunday, with some very good bowls played. 

The semi-finals were played on Saturday, and the Tim Crampton-skipped team of Joy Schroder, Maureen Dowling and Stan Russell were too good for Les Abric’s team of Merle Stockwell, Vi Wood and Adam Rossiter, winning 22-13 at the finish. 

The match was closer than the final score suggests, with the scores locked at 11-all following 14 hard fought ends. 

Crampton’s side managed nine points on ends 15 and 16 and took the result away from Abric’s side as they eventually cruised to the final.

In the second semi-final, the Neil Bulger-skipped side of John Niikkula, Ken Wilson and Peter Hawken were always in control when winning 25-20 against the John Humphries team of Peter Fardell, Andrew Symons and Sam Goodman. 

Bulger’s awesome foursome led 13-nil following just four ends, before going on to win by five points, securing their place in the final.

On Sunday, Bulger and Crampton’s teams met in the final, with both teams leading at different stages of the match. 

Bulger and his team were 9-4 up after nine ends but only 10-9 after 13 ends, before Crampton and his side took the 11-10 lead the very next end. 

In a battle of attrition, Bulger and his side slowly pulled away to win 19-16 and were crowned Club Fours champions. 

In Super Sunday Bowls, there were 16 competitors on the greens and winners were Larry Stitt, Col Stubbs and Shirley Rankin.