David goes Wilde in Club Championships

Sponsors Dwayne and Millie Murray (third and second from right) with B-grade scratch and nett runner up Robert Kell, B-Grade scratch and nett winner Rowan Diggins, A-Grade scratch and nett winner David Wilde and junior scratch champion Byron Crawford.

David Wilde has shown his class to win the 2020 A Murray and Sons A-grade scratch Club Championships at Tumut Golf Club on Sunday.

Playing over four days, which included a round on both the Saturday and Sunday of the previous two weekends, Wilde scored 296 to edge Keith Dehnert on 304 and Robert Crawford on 306.

Wilde also took out the A-grade nett Club Championships, scoring 288 and finishing three points ahead of Aaron Mulvhill on 291 in second and Robert Crawford in third on 293.

Tumut Golf Club captain Ted Clarke praised Wilde on his victory and the club on another successful Club Championships.

“It was a great championships, we had 38 players teeing off on the first Saturday and another 35 across the remaining three days,” Clarke said.

“Although the scores weren’t as strong as previous years, David (Wilde) was consistent and his second round of 69 was the standout round of the competition.”

Despite the rain, Clarke said that the course played beautifully and acknowledged the hard workers who helped run a successful Club Championships.

“Scott Manual had the greens running absolutely beautifully, the fairways were good and even with this weekend being a little bit wet, the four days went very good,” Clarke said.

The club captain also thanked  long time sponsor of the Tumut Club Championships, A Murray and Sons.

“A Murray and Sons have been sponsoring the Tumut Open and Club Championships for about 38 years and their support is invaluable to our club,” Clarke said.

“We wouldn’t be able to hold these events without their support.”

In addition to some cracking competition in A-grade, B-grade saw Rowan Diggins finish strongly to score 341 and knock off Robert Kell on 344 and Don Dixon on 346 in the scratch Club Championships. 

Dixon held the lead after a first round 80 but capitulated in the final round, scoring 91 to give up the result.

Diggins also secured the nett B-grade win, scoring 289 to finish three points clear of Robert Kell on 292, while Dixon finished third on 294.

In C-grade, Tim O’Malley got the job done in the scratch Club Championships with a score of 384, beating Ian McDonald on 386, while Peter McCarthy was in third on 397.

Ian McDonald turned the tables in the C-grade nett Club Championships though, scoring 292, which was eight points clear of O’Malley on 300, while Peter McCarthy finished third with 305.

Finally, the junior scratched winner was Byron Crawford, with the talented 13-year-old scoring 322 across the four days.