Exceptional nurses recognised

Emma Evans has been recognised as the best Registered Nurse in the Murrumbidgee.

Tumut is home to the best registered nurse in the Murrumbidgee.

Palliative Care nurse Emma Evans was honoured with the Excellence in Nursing – Registered Nurse award at the Murrumbidgee Local Health District Excellence Awards in Wagga on Friday night.

Tumut Hospital nurse Unit Manager Narelle McKenzie said she couldn’t imagine a more fitting candidate for the award.

“This is confirmation of something everyone knows,” she said.

“[Emma] is the best and continues to make others lives benefit from her presence – well deserved recognition.”

Many Tumut residents who have gone through the hospital, or who have a family member who has, are familiar with Emma’s work, and they have jumped onto social media to congratulate the beloved RN.

“Well done beautiful lady, could not have gone to a more deserving nurse,” said Judy Davis.

“Oh Emma you’re amazing and so deserving of this and much more for your caring service,” said Denise Wiggins.

Meanwhile, Batlow AIN Joy Gregg was also recognised at the MLHD Awards, in the ‘Excellence in Consumer Appreciation’ category.

An MLHD spokesperson said that Joy had gone above and beyond to provide a patient with an extraordinary level of care and commitment.

“Joy was nominated by a family in appreciation of the care and support provided to their loved one over several years. Joy is an Assistant in Nursing (AIN) from Batlow who applied to do training to learn to be a haemodialysis support person for a patient in Tumut,” they said.

“Joy learnt skills and knowledge outside the normal scope of practice for an AIN.”

Emma Evans, along with Clinician Midwifery Educator working in Tumut Lisa Ferguson, were also nominated for the prestigious Don Kendell Memorial Leadership Award.

The Murrumbidgee Local Health District is responsible for public health services in Wagga, Griffith, Leeton, Lake Cargelligo, Hillston, Narrandera, Urana, Lockhart, Finley, Tocumwal, Berrigan, Jerilderie, Deniliquin, Hay, Barham, Corowa, Henty, Culcairn, Holbrook, Temora, West Wyalong, Coolamon, Cootamundra, Junee, Gundagai, Harden, Young, Harden-Murrumburrah, Boorawa, Tumut, Adelong-Batlow, and Tumbarumba.

MLHD Chief Executive Jill Ludford said that it was important the hard-working staff in the health services were acknowledged.

“Today we acknowledge and celebrate our special award winners who represent the 3800 staff from across the district who work hard every day to make a difference to lives of people in our region,” she said.

“These exceptional women and men have created and continue to uphold the values of excellence, innovation and collaboration which help improve the lives of people in our care.

“Congratulations to everyone.”