Geoff Webb wins Singles Championship

Tim Crampton and Geoff Webb met in Sunday’s Single’s Championships at Club Tumut.

Geoff Webb has taken out the 2022 Tumut Bowling Club Major Singles Championships. 

Webb was forced to play Phill Tod on Saturday in the semi-final, and it was a close match with Geoff winning 25-23. 

The weather held up and Webb then went on to play Tim Crampton in the final on Sunday.

It was a very exciting match, and Webb was absolutely on fire, taking control of the contest right from the start when leading 8-1 after five ends and then 18-3 after 11 ends. 

The match was over before spectators could even blink, and in what can only be described as a dominant performance, Webb won 25 shots to 5 after just 17 ends.

Webb is one of Tumut’s premier bowlers and previously won the Club Championship in 2020 when beating Paul Tarbit 31-28. 

The late Neil Bulger was crowned the 2021 Club Champion when defeating Paul Tarbit 31-26 in a staggering 41-end contest.

Webb has now qualified for Champion of Club Champion Singles, and he is no stranger to that scene, having previously won the district title in 2020, while narrowly missing out in the zone final, going down 31-29 to the zone winner Ricky Potter.

In more Tumut Bowling Club news, single entries are now being taken for the club triples, and bowlers are reminded to please check the board.

Tumut Bowling Club is celebrating their 90th birthday party on May 21 and there is the triples game in the morning followed by lunch. 

Bowling members and guests can just come for lunch or do both, and readers are asked to please check the club notice board for more information.

Next weekend is the Ladies 2-day Triples tournament. Entries close tomorrow.

Super Sunday bowls had 19 Bowlers and winners were Les Abric, Will Crampton and Shirley Rankin. Runners up were Sue Franckiewicz, Carol Carlile and Gordon Doyle. The bonus went to Ken Wilson.

Tumut bowlers win Gundagai’s annual tournament 

What a beautiful sunny autumn day it turned out to be for the 2022 Gundagai’s Annual Bowls tournament last Sunday, with 26 teams taking to the Gundagai District Bowling Club greens. 

Plaudits must go to greenkeeper Neil Sheather and the Gundagai Men’s Bowling Club committee, who had the greens and surrounds in magnificent order.

A big thanks also goes to chief BBQ chef Glenn McGeachie and his offsider Graham Ingold for cooking the lunch. 

Also, a big thanks to the lady’s bowlers for helping out on the day.

First prize was taken out by Tumut Bowling Club’s Matt Vickery, Maureen Dowling and Di Keenan with 3 wins +48, second prize went to a trio from Harden, which included R. James, B. Gibson & D. Peisley with 3 wins + 46.5 and third place went to B. Lack, T. Firman & B. Saffiotti from Temora with 3 wins + 43.5. 

Ditch to Ditch winners were Gundagai’s Des Manton and “Jasper” Smith. 

Resting Touchers went to Skip Robert Giddings Tumut, 2nd Pam Watling Gundagai and Lead Judy Moore Gundagai.

Previous articleWet start to the season doesn’t deter netballers
Next articleHassett shines for NSW at nationals