Goode caps off stellar season

AFTER finishing the season inside the top five goal scorers for the Pascoe Cup, Eagles strike weapon James Goode has won the TEFC Lachlan Smith Memorial trophy for player of the year at their annual presentation night.

James Goode (centre) with the TEFC Lachlan Smith Memorial Trophy for Player of the year.

Goode was the shining light at the front of an Eagles attack that threatened each team they played during the season racking up an impressive 12 goals.

The achievement confirmed Goode’s name as the fifth highest goal scorer for the 2018 season and earned him a place in the Football Wagga Wagga team of the year.

Over 60 players, friends and family flocked to Tumut Golf Club on Friday evening as the TEFC celebrated a turbulent season with plenty of laughs and funny stories.

Highlights from the season were broadcasted across the room as well as the awards following a game show style presentation adding to the joyful and positive atmosphere.

The Eagles Pascoe Cup side had a tough season which could have been starkly different if things had of gone in their favour during the season.

But while the senior Eagles struggled in close matches, the lower grades picked up the slack and showed there is plenty to look forward to within the Eagles ranks.

And first grade coach Matthew Lopez, says there was much to celebrate about the past season.

“Whilst results on the field for first and reserve grade were disappointing, all involved celebrated the improvement on the field both teams made,” Lopez said.

“Being competitive in all games throughout the season we were unlucky not to finish higher up the competition ladder.”

“Our 3rd Grade team, the most successful squad in 2018, was congratulated and celebrated with the hope to continue to build their transition from a successful junior club to a successful and strong senior squad.”

The TEFC Lachlan Smith Memorial trophy for first grade player of the year went James Goode, after a standout season at the front line of the Eagles.

Players player went to the versatile Bailey O’Neill and Rookie of the year was presented to the 16-year-old, Dylan Piper-Bye.

Coaches Award went to Bailey Piper and the reserve grade player of the year went to the deserving Marvin Sing following a strong season.

Third grade awards went to Players player Ethan Contessa while the player of the year award was shared between Kyle Contessa and Lachlan Boyd.