Local bowlers recognised at awards ceremony

Tumut Bowling Club held their end of year club presentation and Christmas party at Club Tumut on Saturday.

The club took time to celebrate all their winners throughout the 2021 bowling season before preparing for a bigger and better 2022 program.

Neil Bulger took out the major title when crowned the Major Singles Champion for 2021 and was presented with the club’s prestigious blue blazer.

Bulger also helped his side of Ken Wilson, John Niikkula and Peter Hawken to victory in the Club Fours Championship.

Joy Schroder also had a strong year, winning the Club Triples Championships with Mat Vicary and Tim Crampton, the Minor Pairs with Merle Stockwell and the Mix Pairs for a second year in a row with Les Abric.

The 2021 season will now wind down with social bowls, and next weekend there will be a district meeting on Sunday in Adelong with bowls to follow.

Super Sunday bowls had 23 Bowlers and the winners were Cathy Harrison, Sue Garvey and Merle Stockwell and runners up were Robyn Harris, Di Keenan and Barry Yan. The bonus prize went to Shirley Rankin.

Super Sunday bowls is on every Sunday with names in by 9.30am for a 10.15am start. For all enquiries, feel free to call the club.

Tumut Bowling Club 2021 award winners

Major Singles winner: Neil Bulger

Major Singles runner up: Paul Tarbit

Major Pairs winners: Graeme Rossiter and Tim Crampton

Major Pairs runners up: Andrew Symons and Adam Peel

Triples winners: Joy Schroder, Mat Vicary and Tim Crampton

Triples runners up: Jenny Hodges, Andrew Annetts and John Humphries. 

Fours winners: Ken Wilson, John Niikkula, Peter Hawken and Neil Bulger

Fours runners up: Joy Schroder, Maureen Dowling, Stan Russell and Tim Crampton

Minor Singles winner: Amanda Shoard

Minor Singles runner up: Will Crampton

Minor Pairs winner: Joy Schroder and Merle Stockwell

Minor Pairs runners up: Anne Huebner and Ken Wilson

Mixed Pairs winners: Joy Schroder and Les Abric

Mixed pairs runner up: Jenny Hodges and Neil Bulger