Machell maintains lead in Ladies Championship

Val Machell is still in front in the Ladies Championships with 18 holes left to be played. 

After 54 holes, Machell leads division one with 277 and sits three shots clear of Lyn Burgmann on 280. 

In division two, Lorraine O’Sullivan leads with 315, and is 11 shots clear of Paula Dean on 326. 

In division three, Jenny Toole holds a three-shot lead from Jan Styles. 

Round four of the Ladies Championships will be held on Saturday morning, with action teeing off at 9.28am. 

Saturday’s draw: 9.28pm: Valerie Machell, Pam Crawford and Karen Webb; 9.36pm: Lorraine O’Sullivan, Paula Dean and Trish Roche; 9.44am Jenny Toole and Jan Styles; 9.52pm: Pam McDonald and Marie Peachy.

In Saturday’s 18-hole stroke event, Val Machell was the division one winner with 74 nett. 

Paula Dean led division two with 72 nett and Jenny Toole led division three with 74 nett. 

In Tuesday’s 18-hole stroke event, Lyn Burgmann led division one with 78 nett, and Trish Roche won division two with 77 nett and Jenny Toole won division three with 76 nett. 

Nearest to the pin in division one was Jan Kendall and in division three was Di Cruise. 

Broad and Diggins win 4BBB Multiplier 

41 golfers took to Tumut Golf Club on Saturday for the 4BBB Multiplier event. 

Todd Broad and Rowan Diggins were the winners with 68, finishing just ahead of Michael Portman and Larry Larder with 67. 

Scott Stevenson and Graeme Hartshorn led the six ball competition winners on 65, through to Jim Power and Brett Skeers on 57. 

Nearest to the pins were Wayne Jones (5.55m) on the fourth and Keith Dehnert on the ninth (2.5m) and 17th (1.36m). 

The Sunday stableford had 19 golfers in action and Dan Pollack was the winner with an impressive 40 points, while Trevor Masters came in second with 36 points. 

Robert Crawford led the nine ball competition winners on 36 points, through to Brett Petherbridge on 30 points. 

Nearest to the pins were Brad Gorman (2.9m) on the fourth, and Graeme Hartshorn on the ninth (2.05m) and the 17th (4.6m). 

27 players took on Thursday’s Chook Run, which was a front-nine stableford event.

Ted Clarke won with 18 points, finishing one shot ahead of Steve Delaney on 17 points. 

Trevor Masters led the eight ball competition winners on 17 points, through to Ian Russell on 14 points. 

In the midweek 18-hole stableford, Ian McDougall was the winner with 36 points, while Steve Delaney (33), Trevor Masters (32) and Greg Kell (29) all won balls.  

In senior golf, 27 players took on the front-nine stroke event. 

William Hughes won with 32 nett, edging the second-placed Greg Cullen on countback.  

John Deacon led the nine ball competition winners on 33 nett, through to Louie Mulvihill on 37 nett. 

William Hughes was the nearest to the pin on hole 9. 

In upcoming events this week, there is an 18-hole stableford on both Saturday and Sunday, while on Tuesday the seniors play a front-nine stableford competition and on Thursday, the Chook Run is a front-nine stroke competition.

Previous articleBlues take on unbeaten Dragons
Next articleAdelong too strong for Tumut