St Joeys performing well above their weight

St Joseph’s Catholic Primary School Adelong swimmers Charlie MacDougall, Toby Roots, Tom Roche and Arthur Roche who won silver at the recent MacKillop trials, qualifying for the NSWPSSA state swimming championships that will be held in Sydney today.

For a school with only 49 kids, St Joseph’s Catholic Primary School in Adelong is making waves in the sporting world. 

For the first time in their history, St Joeys will send a relay team to the NSW Primary School Sports Association state swimming championships that is on today at Sydney Olympic Park Aquatic Centre, after their team qualified to represent MacKillop. 

The Adelong swimmers, who all swim with Adelong Swimming Club, won silver when recording an eight-second personal best at the MacKillop trials in Sydney on March 22, and their principle, Kirsty Beavan, was over the moon with the result. 

“We are most definitely proud. We have made it away to MacKillop before, but we have never made it to this level for swimming,” Beavan said. 

“The kids beat their time by over eight seconds at the MacKillop trial, which is super awesome.”

“The team of Tom Roche, Toby Roots, Arthur Roche and Charlie McDougall are set to do the school and region proud, and Beavan explained that sports was a big part of the school and towns culture. 

“Country kids love their sport and it’s important for the school too – we couldn’t be prouder,” Beavan said. 

In more great news for the small school, Tom Roche (opens) and Toby Roots (under 11s) make the Canberra Goulburn Archdiocesan Rugby League team and Tom Roche (opens) was also selected for the Canberra Goulburn Archdiocesan cricket team.

In addition to St Joseph’s recording great results in sport, the Canberra Goulburn Archdiocesan cricket team also had Batlow’s St Mary’s students Zayn and Ryley Bartlett selected, while McAuley Tumut had Aidan Turnbull and Billy Kelly picked in the side. 

In rugby league, McAuley have a fair few representative players picked in the Canberra Goulburn Archdiocesan teams. 

In the under 11s, Jasper Plum-Bocking, Joe Pearce and Hunter Watts were selected, while in the opens, Aidan Turnbull, Ryan Beavan and Sid Roche all made the cut.