Sturt wins second player of the year award

Matthew Sturt (middle) accepts the Ray Webb Memorial Trophy from Tim Ryan (left) and James Carberry (right) as the Elders Cup Cricketer of the Year.

The Elders Cup 2018/19 season has officially come to a close after they held their awards night that recognised the competition’s best players.

Members and their families from the Tumut and Gundagai District Cricket Associations attended the evening at the Royal Hotel.

Matthew Sturt won the night’s top honours after he was announced as the Elders Cup cricketer of the year.

Sturt scored 989 points, which included 349 runs, 22 wickets and 9 catches. Close up in 2nd was Coolac’s Tim Graham with 955 points that included 515 runs, 14 wickets and 7 catches. Junee’s Trent Charlton finished in 3rd with 917 points and a very good all round record of 437 runs, 16 wickets, 6 catches and 2 run-outs.

This was Sturt’s second time winning the Ray Webb Memorial Trophy after he topped the leaderboard in 2013/2014. In what seems a bitter sweet win for the Tumut Plains captain; Sturt will be out of action for his foreseeable cricketing future.

“I will be having back surgery shortly that will keep me out of the sport for at least next season,” Sturt said.

“I’m not entirely sure if I will be able to return at all and this could be my last time playing cricket”.

Sturt will shortly announce who is taking over the Tumut Plains team for the 2019/20 season and is confident their youth and enthusiasm will bring success to the club next season.

In other senior awards, Tim Graham was the leading runs scorer in the competition with a batting aggregate of 515. Glenn Appleby finished second, 11 runs behind Graham on 504, while Jason Webb finished third with 462 runs.

The Colts’ Malcom Wray won the batting average award with 362 runs at a Bradman like average of 90.50. Tim Graham was again relegated to second place with 515 runs at an impressive 73.57 and Tom Shedden finished in 3rd with 418 runs at 59.71.

Duanne Shawcross was a standout with the ball all year for Coolac, taking 46 wickets at 9.46.

This was enough for Shawcross to once again be named the Elders Cup leading wicket taker. Ben Hardwick came out of the blocks early and led the overall wickets leaderboard for much of the season.

His 42 wickets landed him in second, while Andrew Smith finished third with 33 wickets for the season.

The Lippers’ Greg Crampton led the competition with the best bowling average with 25 wickets at 5.92. Andrew Smith finished in 2nd with 33 wickets at 7.91 and Duane Shawcross finished in 3rd with his 46 at 9.46.

The Elders Cup competition relies heavily on younger players transitioning into the senior competition and rewards their achievements throughout the season.

The Adelong Donkeys’ Jordyn Maher was announced as the overall Elders Cup junior cricketer of the year after he won the Kitch Shedden Memorial trophy. Maher finished the season with 110 runs, 30 wickets and 5 catches.

Blake Maher made it a family affair being recognised as the best junior fielder for his 17 catches. The 2 brothers combined throughout the season for a total of 15 wickets for the Adelong Donkeys.

Tate O’Donovan’s 236 runs at 18.15 were enough for him to take out the Ralph Attwood Memorial Trophy that recognises the best batsman under 21.

Andrew Smith was again recognised for his excellence with his 33 wickets at 7.91 enough to be name the Elders Cup junior bowler of the year.